A new compilation of Lou Reed covers is on the way. For The Power of the Heart: A Tribute to Lou Reed, Light in the Attic have corralled a generation-spanning guest list including Angel Olsen (who collaborates with singer-songwriter Maxim Ludwig), the Afghan Whigs, Joan Jett, Lucinda Williams, Rufus Wainwright, and Rickie Lee Jones, as well as the Rolling Stones’ Keith Richards, whose version of the Velvet Underground’s “I’m Waiting for the Man” is out now. Check that out below, along with the tracklist. The comp is out April 20.

Read Philip Sherburne’s review of the new reissue of Reed’s Hudson River Wind Meditations.

The Power of the Heart: A Tribute to Lou Reed:

01 Keith Richards – “I’m Waiting For The Man”
02 Maxim Ludwig & Angel Olsen – “I Can’t Stand It”
03 Rufus Wainwright – “Perfect Day”
04 Joan Jett and the Blackhearts – “I’m So Free”
05 Bobby Rush – “Sally Can’t Dance”
06 Rickie Lee Jones – “Walk on the Wild Side”
07 The Afghan Whigs – “I Love You, Suzanne”
08 Mary Gauthier – “Coney Island Baby”
09 Lucinda Williams – “Legendary Hearts”
10 Automatic – “New Sensations”
11 Rosanne Cash – “Magician”
12 Brogan Bentley – “The Power Of The Heart”

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts