Insurrection, a new collection of previously unreleased material by late Suicide co-founder Alan Vega, has been announced. The 11-song LP lands May 31 via In the Red, and it includes lead single “Mercy,” which is out today. The song arrives with a music video directed by the Jesus and Mary Chain’s Douglas Hart, starring models Mateen Ismail and Helena Gawrzyalska. Check it out below.

“To underscore the powerful rhythms of the song, the video loops and repeats simple movements, like the repeated opening and closing of doors,” Hart said of the “Mercy” visual in press materials. “The textures of the music are illustrated by using both black and white and heavy colour-tinted images.”

After Vega died in 2016, his friends and collaborators started assembling his remaining unreleased material, some of which was issued by Sacred Bones. The initial release, Mutator, came out in 2021. That album comprised work created between 1996 and 1998 with his wife and frequent collaborator Liz Lamere.

Revisit “Henry Rollins on How Suicide’s Alan Vega Changed His Life.”


01 Sewer
02 Invasion
03 Crash
04 Cyanide Soul
05 Murder One
06 Fireballer Fever
07 Genocide
08 Chains
09 Jet Lord
10 Mercy
11 Fireballer Spirit

Alan Vega Insurrection

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts